Licensed Massage Therapy Program
In our training program you will learn the basics of Swedish massage, anatomy, physiology, and many other modalities of massage. Our program consists of 500 hours and we have day and night classes available. With just 500 hours of A/P and hands-on training, you can join the thousands of successful people just like you that chose Touching America Hot Springs School of Massage!
Touching America Hot Springs School of Massage is approved by the Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy. License #ARS1019
Arkansas law requires that 500 classroom hours fall into the following curriculum to obtain your Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT) certification:
Anatomy & Physiology System and Kinesiology- 175 hours
In this class students will learn the functional and activities performed by the systems of the body as a whole. Students will learn how massage can affect the systems of the body, and how the physiology of the eleven systems relates to massage. Students will also learn indications and contraindications for massage.
Technique- 225 hours
Massage students will learn hands-on techniques for practicing massage. In addition to Swedish massage, students will also receive a basic understanding of several other modalities including: Sports Massage, Soft Tissue Release, Deep Tissue, Active Isolated Stretching, British Sports, Aromatherapy, Spa Services, Reflexology, Lymphatic Drainage, Myofascial Release, Fibromyalgia Massage and many more.
Mini-Courses- 100 hours
In this class students will cover a variety of short subjects including hydrotherapy, heliotherapy, electrotherapy, state law, hygiene and infection control, business management, ethics and more.
Students may enroll at any time after acceptance to our training program.
6 Month Program: (3 days per week)
Day Classes: Monday - Wednesday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
9 Month Program: (3 nights per week)
Night Classes: Monday - Wednesday 5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuition & Payment Options
Tuition for the program is $4,500. This is an all-inclusive amount. We do not charge extra fees for textbooks.
Option 1: Self-Pay
Your tuition can be paid in full by cash, check or money order.
Option 2: In-House Financing
6 month program:
$100 application, entrance and processing fee
$1,000 Down Payment
$680 per month / 5 months ( for 9 month program payment is $425 per month/8 months)
Touching America accepts the following payment methods:
Cash / Check / Cashiers Check / Money Order/ Credit Cards
($30.00 fee applied on all returned checks)
Other Options: Bank Loan / Credit Union Loan
One often overlooked option is a personal loan from your bank or credit union
VA Benefits & AR Rehabilitation Services
Touching America is an approved provider by both the Veterans Administraion & Arkansas Rehabilitation Services. For more information or to see if you qualify, please contact us! As these do not have to ever be paid back if you are approved!
Admission Requirements, Procedures & Policies
Touching America does not discriminate on the basis of race, gender, age, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin, religion or disability.
Requirements: Students must be 18 years of age or older and possess either a High School Diploma, GED, or college transcripts and be physically able to perform and receive various massage techniques taught by our program. In order to practice massage in the state of Arkansas, you are required to obtain a license and register with the Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy. Check all local laws or ordinances that might apply before starting your practice. If you have ever been convicted of a felony, we urge you to contact the Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy before enrolling in any massage school.
Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy
P.O. Box 2019
Little Rock, AR. 72203
Arkansas Law requires a negative TB test. Touching America requires students have this upon entering our program. AR. law also requires a doctors statement stating you are free of all communicable diseases and are fit to both give and receive massage. We also require our students to have insurance prior to starting class.The cost for this is $45 and it is good for a year should it take that long to complete your schooling.
We recommend the following insurance company: Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals (ABMP) http://www.abmp.com/
and please tell them GREGG S. BENEFIEL referred you. You can also get a form from the school 1st day of school at the school and take care of it then! ABMP gives a $45 discount when you are a licensed massage therapist and get the $199 a year insurance from them the first time--so it is like you got free student insurance!
How to Enroll
Call our school at 1-501-772-1226 for a packet to be sent to you,within two business days. Complete the paper work in the packet and send it, along with a check or money order in the amount of $100 to process your application, or bring it by. The applicaton fee is 100% non-refundable. Upon receiving your application and appropriate fees, your application will be processed and you can begin school! It is that simple!
Touching America Hot Springs School of Massage
600 Pine Forest Drive Suite 120
Maumelle, AR 72113
Supplies that are required for school:
Students are responsible for purchasing the following materials prior to their first day of class:
2 sets of Twin Size Sheets with pillow cases (most prefer dark prints not solid colors and since these are only used by you, any sheets will work! These can be used or your kids even!)
1 regular bath towel (any color)
2 hand towels (any color)
1 3-ring binder (most prefer 5")
Pens / Pencils / Notebook Paper and
State and Federation Examination Fees
Arkansas requires students graduating from a licensed and accredited, 500 hour program, to take the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards Examination (MBLEx), as well as the Arkansas State Board Law Examination. Such fees are as follows:
MBLEx Federation Examination- $195
Arkansas State Board Law Examinaton- $180 (Exam fee/Registration fee/License fee) License will be good for 2 years.
Also required is a Police background check cost $25
Also required is CPR training & current card( This can be done online for under $20).
AND YOU CAN CHOOSE TOUCHING AMERICA WITH CONFIDENCE, AS in 2014, WE WERE THE #1 SCHOOL IN ARKANSAS WITH A 100% FIRST TIME PASS RATE ON THE EXAMS FOR LICENSE and in 2015 we were awarded Country's Top Massage Schools- Massage Therapy Award!!! AND THIS YEAR IS LOOKING THE SAME AS WELL!!!